Tagged: DC Cinematic universe

The DC Extended Universe (DCEU) / DC Films / DC Cinematic Universe is an American media franchise and shared universe that is centered on a series of superhero films, distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures and based on characters that appear in American comic books by DC Comics. The shared universe, much like the original DC Universe in comic books and the television programs, was established by crossing over common plot elements, settings, cast, and characters.

The films have been in production since 2011 and in that time Warner Bros. has distributed five films with more than ten in various stages of production. The series has grossed over $3.7 billion at the global box office, currently making it the twelfth highest-grossing film franchise.

The films are written and directed by a variety of individuals and feature large, often ensemble, casts. Several actors, including Henry CavillBen AffleckGal Gadot, Ezra Miller, Jason Momoa and Ray Fisher, are set to appear in numerous films.

The first film in the DCEU was Man of Steel (2013), which was followed by Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016), Suicide Squad(2016), Wonder Woman (2017) and Justice League (2017). Future films with scheduled release dates include: Aquaman (2018), Shazam! (2019), Wonder Woman 2 (2019), Cyborg (2020) and Green Lantern Corps (2020). Other projects with confirmed titles that are also in various stages of development: Batgirl, The Batman, Black Adam, Flashpoint, Gotham City Sirens, Justice League Dark, Nightwing, and Suicide Squad 2. In addition, films focusing on the Birds of Prey, Deadshot, Deathstroke, Harley Quinn, Harley Quinn and the Joker, and Lobo, as well as sequels to Justice League and Man of Steel are also in active development.

1 2 3 7
Left Menu Icon